Rank Advancements

The philosophy of this Troop is that a Scout must be motivated to seek advancement. We offer advancement opportunities (i.e. merit badge work during campouts and Troop meetings, First Class emphasis program, etc.). The Scout needs to seek out a member of the Scoutmaster Corps to have his book signed for the lower ranks. The SM will conduct the Scoutmaster Conference for those Scouts seeking First Class Rank or above. Any member of the Scoutmaster Corps may conduct the Scoutmaster Conference for those ranks below First Class. The Scoutmaster Corps will encourage the Scouts to do the work necessary to advance.



Four Steps to Advancement


 "A Boy Scout advances from Tenderfoot to Eagle by doing things with his patrol and his troop, with his leaders, and on his own. It's easy for him to advance if the following four opportunities are provided for him."

1. The Boy Scout learns.
"A Scout learns by doing. As he learns, he grows in ability to do his part as a member of the patrol and the troop. As he develops knowledge and skill, he is asked to teach others; and in this way he begins to develop leadership."

 2. The Boy Scout is tested.
"A Scout may be tested on rank requirements by his patrol leader, Scoutmaster, assistant Scoutmaster, a troop committee member, or a member of his troop. The Scoutmaster maintains a list of those qualified to give tests and to pass candidates. The Scout's merit badge counselor teaches and tests on the requirements for merit badges."

3. The Boy Scout is reviewed.
"After a Scout has completed all requirements for a rank, he has a board of review. For Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle Palms, the review is conducted by members of the troop committee. The Eagle Scout board of review is conducted in accordance with local council procedures."

4. The Boy Scout is recognized.
"When the board of review has certified a boy's advancement, he deserves to receive recognition as soon as possible. This should be done at a ceremony or at the next troop meeting. The certificate for his new rank may be presented later at a formal court of honor.


Goal Review
Each Scout will participate in several goal reviews over the course of the year, based  on rank and progress. The Scoutmaster Corps will initiate these reviews.

Court of Honor
A Court of Honor (COH) will be held two to four times a year, depending on necessity. All Scouts are expected to attend, even if not receiving an award. Dress uniform, including merit badge sash, should be worn. We ask that parents also attend. Siblings are welcome. Awards are usually issued as earned and recognized at the next COH.

For an Eagle COH, the Troop will supply the Eagle packet, the BSA Eagle neckerchief and the Eagle neckerchief slide.


SelectionFile type iconFile nameDescriptionSizeRevisionTimeUser